The SEK Education Group International Advisory Board is an advisory body set up as part of its new internationsation strategy.

The team is made up of top-level, world-renowned intellectuals and professionals and will give advice that will be key to outline the lines of action to explore and tackle the major challenges facing SEK and the University Camilo José Cela for the coming years. The International Advisory Board was set up, as is set forth in its Mission Statement, with the conviction that “we live in times that are not only changing but are very volatile and uncertain in terms of the economic model, social structure, cultural patterns and, in general, all of human experience. The education system is an integral part of this global soul-searching”.

advisory board


advisory board

Arpad von Lazar

Chairman – IAB

Professor Emeritus – Tufts Fletcher School, Universidad Camilo José Cela

Educación & Negocio Internacional

advisory board

Nieves Segovia Bonet


SEK Education Group and Camilo José Cela University

Education and educational management

advisory board

José Luis Delso Martínez-Trevijano

Vice President

SEK Education Group and Camilo José Cela University

Education and educational management

Héctor Escamilla

Rector, ex-officio member

Camilo José Cela University

Innovation in education, educational management and horticulture

advisory board

María Cruz Lagar

Head of Schools, ex-officio member

SEK International Schools

Education and educational management

advisory board

Omar S. Qandeel

Vice-Chairman, IAB

Blue Orchard Finance Ltd, Switzerland

Investment in social development through technology, energy and international business

advisory board

Barbara Arrowsmith Young

Educational entrepreneur and scientist

Arrowsmith Program.

Education& educational therapy

advisory board

Klaus Barbknecht

Vice chancellor

Freiberg University of Mining and Technology

University education, international economy and energy

María Emilia Correa


Sistema B

Business sustainability, civil society and academia.

Javier de Muguiro Miranda

Managing Partner

MdF Family Partners

Fund management

advisory board

Andrés Duarte


Luzar Trading Energy

investments, energy and international trade

advisory board

Álvaro Fernández Ibáñez

CEO and Editor-in-Chief


Applied neuroscience, innovation, lifelong learning

Bertold Fridlender


Hadassah Academic College

University education

Stephen Heppell

Founder & CEO

Innovative learning space, ICT and educational technology

advisory board

Bruce Magid

Rector and Vice President of Academic Affairs – Golden Gate University

University education, edutainment & international business

advisory board

Adrian Monck

Public and Social Participation Manager – World Economic Forum

International communications and journalism

advisory board

José M. Ordovás

Professor of Nutrition and Higher Scientist

USDA-Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University

Precision Nutrition and Healthy Ageing

advisory board

Ursina Plüss

Coordinator – Swiss Federal Department of Defence

Criminology, journalism and crisis management

advisory board

Andrés J. Recoder

Private investor and entrepreneur

International fi nance

advisory board

Alexander Schindler

Head Advisor, Former Board Member – Union Investment

Asset management and insurance

advisory board

Jeanette van Beek

Director – Symphony ZorgAcadamie

Founder – Healthier Living Pays

Health and healthcare systems management, especially disabilities and geriatrics

advisory board

Georg von Habsburg

Ambassador on Special Mission – Red Cross

International Relations and Communications

Albrecht von Mueller

Director – Parmenides Centre for the Study of Thinking

Concept of Time, Phenomenon of Thinking, Time & Logic, Visual Reasoning

and Complexity Research

advisory board

Stavros N. Yiannouka

C EO – World Innovation Summit for Education, Qatar Foundation

Innovation, research, education and education advocacy

advisory board

Eduardo López

Founder – Columbus Avenue Investments

Finance, consultancy, education and innovation

Read more about the members of the IAB


In order to bolster the participation of our students in the design of our educational model we have set up the Junior Advisory Board, which directly advises and informs the President, transmitting the voice, aspirations and interests of a singular generation of students.


José Juan Gómez Cantón

María Sánchez Barranco



Víctor Arribas

Pablo Riesgo

Adriana Dorvier


Javier de Zúñiga

Marcos Vega

Carlos García



Arturo Fernández

Carlos Alonso

Mónica Cuende


Ainara Soler

Rosa Cirigliano



Sofía Inés Prieto



Gabriela de la Cuesta

advisory board